It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:44 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 8 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Help required pleae
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:30 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:53 pm
Posts: 1310
Right guys I have just installed a new =
Asus 787-A motherboard
i5 processor
water cooling system .

Right not happy even tho the system works ok .
I cant get on the internet :angry:
I get = Windows did not detect a properly installed network adaptor , if you have a network adaptor you will need to reinstall it . :?
please what is this ?

allso i get , Windows could not find a driver for your network adaptor .
so can some one please tell me what ive done wronge . as thought just install and away you go !
it asks for a name and password to join internet , but not sure which , is it my BT account username and password it wants ?
if i need an adaptor , what is it and where do i get it .

ok Know this will sound stupid !! :roll: but, and i think i know the answer to this :idea: and feel a total twat ! :oops:
I have not run the support dvd :oops: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
I take it that the Lan driver and other things are on it.
I was going to take all the above off but thought Id share
how little pc knowledge I have ! :lol: :lol: well at least im learning ;) this is my first complete , allmost new rig build ! and it worked !
will install later as going for a pint ! long day for me .
doing this basterd pc.

my rig is

Asus 787- A motherboard
i5 -4570 processor
corsair hydro series H55 water cooling
2 TB hard drive
GTX 570HD card
corsair 750 w power
8 GB DDR3 corsair Vengence RAM

_________________
Image


Last edited by Wolfy101st on Sat Jul 13, 2013 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help required pleae
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 4:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:10 pm
Posts: 980
First things first, how do you connect to your router Wolfy using an ethernet cable or via wireless?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help required pleae
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 4:53 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:53 pm
Posts: 1310
router ethernet . will install later as said above and see what happens.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help required pleae
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:10 pm
Posts: 980
Make sure you see light on the port when you connect your ethernet cable Wolfy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help required pleae
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:17 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:52 pm
Posts: 371
Location: East Sussex, UK
lesson for the future, before you build a new pc.. download every single driver you could possibly need as well as anti virus and firefox/chrome installer and put it on a pen drive/dvd. It speeds the whole process up no end. Though it will likely take a few goes to get it all without forgetting anything.

generally best to get the lan driver and all other drivers from the corresponding websites as opposed to the DVD as they will be newer but yeah they will be on the DVD too, which is convenient with you not being able to get online!

as far as connecting to the internet, once ur ethernet driver is installed, it will connect you as soon as u plug it in, shouldnt need a password because its a wired connection

nice to have new bits though :hbang:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help required pleae
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:07 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Yorkshire man in London
I did the same mate. if its a new motherboard with disk it should be on it. have a route around the disk. or try doing it through the device manager and set the location to look for it as the disk drive. might help.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help required pleae
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:12 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:53 pm
Posts: 1310
Perfect this is to carry on the first post :D
As I have just updated win 10 , guess what no internet again .
phoned microsoft yesterday as I tried everything , I have even sent a email to Asus as microsoft said to update my drivers .I did all this and got very umm not happy .
anyway a strange thing happened when the microsoft dude was helping me over the phone , I had an error in windows when they talked me through resetting things , took my email address as this should not happen he said .
well, I forgot the obvious :?
my antivirus ;)
I uninstalled it and bingo all is good in Wolfy's house ..
Thought the worse as every time I started the pc I would get
Failed to bind socket
no phone found
some internet protocols are missing on this computer .
Ehhh where did they go ??
oh well pc is a learning curve .. just thought I would share with you guys :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help required pleae
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 11:12 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:00 pm
Posts: 1131
Location: Cork, Ireland
there u go Wolfy :D u're learning a u've fixed it by yourself, well done!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 8 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net